A Guiding Light in The Dark: My tribute to Don Nixon

In life, we encounter interesting and incredible people every day, or at least every other day. Every single person we meet adds something new, however large or small, to our lives. Then, there are the extra special, extraordinary, extra incredible people that we meet only on very rare & lucky occasions and end up changing us in huge ways for life Sometimes we know these people for a few weeks, a few months, or a few years. If we’re very, very lucky, though, we’ll know these people for all our lives. We cherish these people because the help us learn, grow, and laugh along the way, and we hold them in our hearts forever.

Don Nixon was one of those extra special, once in a lifetime people.

Don Nixon was my Sunday School Teacher and Music Teacher at Willow Meadows Baptist Church when I was growing up in Houston, Texas. He helped teach me the value and power of faith in one’s life. Not just faith in God, either, but also faith in others and faith in myself. He taught me, and many, many people, about the joys of embracing one’s artistic and creative talents, which has certainly had a tremendous impact on my life.  When I decided to move to Chicago to pursue comedic and artistic endeavors, Don Nixon was one of my biggest supporters. There was a time when my self-confidence was waning, and I was starting to feel like I should move back to Texas. He (among other people) really solidified my resolve that moving here was the right thing to do, and reminded me that this is what I’ve wanted to do since I was little. I will always hold a special place in my heart for Don Nixon, as does everybody that ever had the pleasure of knowing him, because I know that, like me, there are legions of people out there whose lives have been bettered by Don Nixon’s presence.

On the afternoon of February 8, Don Nixon passed away after a battle with leukemia. He had a vibrant positive energy that just seemed to permeate from him – a constant bright light that could outshine even the darkest days. So when I learned of his passing, I swear I saw the daylight dim just a little bit.  

Don Nixon will always be loved, and he will always be missed.

Leave a Reply

